The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The author, in the given prompt, avers that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. I, with the author, mostly agree, and in the next three-paragraph, I will explain why I mostly agree with the author.

First of all, there are certain situations where healthy competition is needed for efficient leadership. For instance, in an organization, most of the young people, as they are neophytes, tend to lethargic towards their assigning works. If there is no competition, they will get no impetus for work. Because psychologically human being tends to do something better than others, people, who vie them. From the psychological viewpoint, the young novice leader in government, industry, or other fields, will always try to compete with their coworkers. Thus, in this particular situation, competition is a fulcrum for good leadership.

However, when the competition is invidious, it rather dampens the quality of leadership. In fact, when competition makes fracas, cooperation is mandatory to mitigate the situation. Indeed, most of the time, as we all are created differently, we tend to have disagreements, disagreements that may hamper the leadership quality, in fact, may ruin the organization. In those particular cases, cooperation is necessary to palliate the situation and to help flourish the organization.

Moreover, in the case of governments, to lead a peaceful relationship between two countries, cooperation is mandatory. For example, in the trade war between China and America, there is a huge economic loss of two countries until they reach an agreement, which is the result of cooperation. Say, for instance, the relationship between Iran and the USA. There is a discord, which is not solved till now, because of their unrestrained competition. If there was cooperation, the situation might have been far better. Thus, cooperation, in this type of fact, is mandatory.

In sum, though there are some situations, where competition may help flourish a government or organization, most of the time, unrestrained competition is insidious which we do not see directly.