The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University.

"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged

students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega

professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade

averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the

grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as

successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its

graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of

professors."

In the stated memo Omega University dean recommended that Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of professors for its graduates to secure better jobs. To strengthen his argument, the dean also provided some facts that potential employers apparently believe the grades at Omega are inflated and as a result of that Omega's students have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. Though the recommendation is appealing, meticulous peruse reveals that the argument stands on some gratuitous assumptions.

Firstly, the dean states that potential employers apparently believe that the grades at Omega are inflated. In stating that evidence, the dean assumed that grades are inflated solely because of student evaluation of the professors and did not provided any further evidences in regarding this assumption. It may be the case that student's grades are inflated because of other factors. Perhaps, students cheated on exam. It may possible that questions of the courses were easy, hence student got high grades. Without ruling out the possible scenarios stated above, it would be fallacious to accept the dean's recommendation.

Secondly, the author of the memo pointed out that graduates of Omega did not get a job only because of their inflated grades. In assuming that the dean did not provide any promising evidences which could strengthen the argument. Even if students grades are inflated because of student evaluation procedure, it is surely possible that the students do not get better job because of other factors. It may be their lack of skills. May be the what the students have learnt from Omega differs the requirements of employers. If it is the case, then the dean's recommendation will not be fruitful for the betterment of the graduates in getting better jobs.

Finally, the dean, in the memo, made comparison of the Omega's students with that of Alpha, a nearby University. Here, the author, fallaciously, assumed that Alpha University is same as Omega in other, unstated, criteria in getting better job. But it may not be the case. It is entirely probable that Alpha differs from Omega. Perhaps, Alpha has a policy for the students to get a better job. It may be the case that Omega does not emphasize on getting better job. Perhaps, Omega's professor just teaches perfunctorily than that of Alpha. If the above facts are true, the dean's argument will not hold the water.

In conclusion, the dean's argument is fallacious because of some unsubstantiated assumptions. To better strengthen his argument, the dean must provide evidences in regarding scenarios stated above. To evaluate the dean's recommendation, I would need to analyze that (1) the grades are inflated only because of the students evaluation procedure, (2) because of inflated grades students do not get better jobs and (3) Alpha University is same as Omega University in other criteria of getting better jobs.