The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our motes but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author of the argument argues that they should invest a larger share of the budget of Super-Screen Movie Company to tout and make the public abreast of the positive reviews that they have received. The author cites the reasons that though they have seen a rise in positive reviews from the movie reviewers during the past year, they have noticed a significant decline in the number of people who attended the movies at Super Screen Movies. This makes the author impute the lesser turnout of movie watchers to the lack of advertising and public awareness. The author here seems to rely on some unwarranted assumptions that undermine the argument. The following three paragraphs state the questions that the author must address to strengthen the argument.

What kind of movies is being displayed at the Super Screen Movies? Perhaps the public that is the target audience for Super Screen Movies have a different taste of movies. It is possible for example, the movie watchers are more inclined towards action movies, than critically acclaimed art films. Critically acclaimed movies might get them great movie reviews from reviewers but it might not be attractive enough to pander to larger crowds who have more quotidian tastes in movies. The author must thus suggest surveys that would assess the genre preferences of the majority of their target-audience, or in cases different sections of the public. This will give Super Screen Movies an idea about the movies they should display.

Moreover, is the movie theatre at a conducive location? Perhaps the location of the movie theatre is in a heavily congested area that might require hours to reach. It can be possible that there are lesser parking spaces. Such situations can be daunting for the local public and discourage them from attending the movies. Thus the author must take into consideration the location of the Super Screen Movies and that if it has any impact on the low turnouts that they have been experiencing.

Does the Super Screen Movies charge higher rates from movie watchers than their competitors or the average price? It can be possible that higher prices can make people disinterested to visit the movies. Similarly, too lower charges can make the customers to assume that the theatre is compensating for its poor service. The author must include, whether the rates that are charged by Super Screen Movies comparable to its competitors or local average rates, and how it might affect the attendance in the theatres.

Does the Super Screen Movies have appropriate or convenient show timings? It is possible that the inconvenient show timings are one of the few reasons that results in a lower turnout. For example, if the show timings coincide with the office hours then fewer people will be able to attend the movies even if they are willing to watch a movie. Moreover, too late show timings might deter people to attend the movies due to safety issues. For example, parents would not allow their kids to attend movies at late night hours. Thus the author must assess and indicate whether the show timings of Super Screen Movies are conducive for the general public and how it affects the attendance.

In sum, the above questions must be answered by the author in order to make a cogent argument. The suggestions mentioned above, like, conducting surveys of the target audience, and considering the effects of location, rates charged, and the show timings will help the author to substantiate his arguments and come to better conclusions.