"Unfortunately, the media tend to highlight what is sensational at the moment. Society would

be better served if the media reported or focused more fully on events and trends that will

ultimately have the most long-term significance."

The very essence of journalism is being lost in today's day and age where gossips and entertainment garner higher views than actual news. Primarily the media and the people consuming the services of the media houses are both at fault and are anything but mutually benign. The Media has been depending on sensational events and incidents that are referred to as "Trends" in popular culture and ignore the issues that might have and do have potential long term effect on communities or even humanity in the large scale. I strongly agree with the claim and have three reasons that would help to undergird the assertion.

The media houses are more inclined towards the ratings they receive than the quality of journalism they promote. The media houses earn their morsel from the ratings and viewership. To make this possible they stress on evanescent topics for example hollywood celebrity scandles and gossips to gain a larger public attention. They rely on "spicy" headlines and sparkly illustrations and demostrations to lure the audience into spending their valuable time. They promote news that have levity to them and pander to the audience a sense of recreational news that diverts their minds from the real pressing issues of society and humanity at hand.

The target audience has a significantly lower attention span and the number of such people is on a rise. With the advent of technological advances like the smart phones, social media, and online news portals, the attention span for an average human being has been lessened. It has been observed in many scientific research and surveys that the people who rely heavily on their smart gadgets are likely to have a smaller attention time and would prefer to have small tidbits of news than the conventional news segment regarding issues of grave importance. The test subjects in majority stated that they would prefer compendiums rather than half hour news segments. This surveys and studies proved that it serves as an incentive for the media to be able to inject more information or news that relate to sensational issues in the mainstream along with the important issues. It shows how the younger generations and the generations affected by technology have their ability to absorb the gravity of important issues astonishingly cauterized.

The media houses makes monetary gains and incentives for deviating the focus of the people from pressing issues, from Governments. As it has been seen in cases like that of India where it is reported by external media that the country's journalism is at the edge of a cliff. Purportedly the media in India has been refraining from asking questions to the government and their constant attack on the opposition and efforts to balkanize the public based on communal lines have been condemned by the intellectuals and the external media agencies. Thus it is evident that with the magintude of avarice in the world it is entirely possible for media to surrender journalism for corporate and personal gains.

Though one might argue that the media needs to be relevant to disseminate all kinds of news and thus might require to resort to sensational news at times. To that I fairly object by upholding the principles of journalism that media doesn't need to make efforts to stay relevant rather it shoould be catering the information regarding important issues of the mankind to the public. If the media encourage dissemniation of the pressing issues at a higher rate than promoting the contemporary sensational tid bits, they would help shape up an responsible and socially mature audience.