The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of

developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the

nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local

market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended

Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the

highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Finally, a

nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz

entertainment. It is clear that the C Note cannot help but make money."

A group of developers proposes a application for business loan citing their reasons to set up a Jazz music club, 'C Note' in Monroe. The developer's reason that the nearest jazz club being at a distance of 65 miles they might appropriate the monopoly of the jazz music scene of Monroe. The group's ambitious plan and their application for the small business loan should clarify few assumptions that seem unwarranted, or their application might get discarded.

The popularity of Jazz music is based on the fact that 100,000 people attended the Monroe's jazz festival the previous summer, along with the prescence of a motley of prominent jazz players, and a nightly radio program. It is plausible that the crowd statistics cited by the authors that attended the Monroe's jazz festival is a rounded up figure and the actual numbers might vary by a larger margin. It can also be posited that the putatively high turn out of people for the festival was because of the weather and favourable time of event. A pleasant summer day is favourable for such event. Moreover the popularity of the event is based of its coup for only a single year which might be by happenstance. Assessing the reasons cited by the authors for the popularity of jazz music in Monroe, it might be possible that the musicians living in Monroe don't perform for smaller crowds in clubs and rather participate in larger festivals. Without a proper consensus from the musical community it might not be a feasible reason to cite for Jazz music's popularity. The nightly radio show that airs every weeknight has no ratings associated with it, neither does the authors ascribe any appropos ratings to the same.

The Nation wide survey that the authors makes us abreast of states the high expenditures of people on Jazz entertainment. Perhaps, the expenditures on jazz entertainment is below the average in Monroe which is equally likely. The national average spending on jazz entertainment might not be a good indication of the expenditure rates in Monroe as it fails to reflect local variations in Jazz entertainment expenditure. This might lead to the authors to overstep in estimating the turn out from their Jazz club business. The nationwide survey also fails to address the apparent expenditure rates for other musical genres that might be a competition to the jazz entertainment sector.

All in all, the application by the authors look frail. The author's need to bolster their application based on the consensus about Jazz entertaiment received from people and whether the musicians are willing to participate in this endeavour. The authors need to assess the local average of the expenditure on jazz instead of being possibly cozened by the national average figures. If the authors could arrange for the above stated evidences then they could make a cogent case for their appilcation of the small business loan.