The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is one of the most valuable and intangible assets that one can bring to a corporation. The sense of cooperation being the fundamental undergird of leadership must be encouraged and propagated within the young people who are going to be the future of the world. My opinions incline with the statement that the best way really is, to prepare and broach the upcoming cohort of younger people about the importance of the sense of cooperation how it is fundamental, in leadership positions across the board, namely the government, industry, and other fields, The reasons why I opine as such are discussed below in the following three paragraphs.

Cooperation forms the basis or the glue that holds a team together. This sense of cooperation amongst all the members of the team requires the leader to bolster and maintain it. For example, a team rife with contentions have been seen to produce lesser results when hundred groups of workers working in the rice production industry in Georgia were studied. A heuristic approach by the study unravelled the fact that the groups of workers that had higher yields to their name, had leaders who regularly maintained a sense of harmony amongst the group members and made it a point to mitigate any discord that might have come up. This goes to show that cooperation among the members of a group, regularly underscored by the leader of the team, had a positive impact on the efficacy of their work and produce resulting to an overall benefit in terms of profit and relationships amongst the group. This helps us to understand another point that is discussed in the following paragraph.

Therefore, drawing from the previous reasoning, a sense of cooperation in a leader helps them listen to their team members and the issues that report regularly. As one of the most well-known apothegm goes "A good leader must be a good listener first", studies show for example, that leaders who regularly listen to, and address the concerns of their team have a better understanding about the performance of the team and how a certain issue might effect the efficacy of the team. Moreover, the team members report that they feel that their voices are being heard and necessary actions are being taken to alleviate the concerns they raise. This purportedly encourages them to travail and contribute more to the efforts of team.

Lastly, the sense of cooperation, is not only essential to glue a team together but also to expand as a part of industry or form meaningful partnerships with other industries. A corporation thrives on partnerships and it is essential for a leader to be cooperative while assessing the terms and conditions that they are offered in various collaborations. For example, the collaboration of the private sector companies like Google with Government sector organizations like NASA require strong leaders to establish collaborative ventures that will be beneficial to both the companies. A leader who is not cooperative might not be able to arrive at a settlement with the corporation that it wants to partner with, owing to reluctance in indulging in compromises at all. This would be deleterious to the company and also to the stake holder of the corporations, general public like us. This seals the importance of subsuming a sense of cooperation, so that the corporations as a whole can thrive on partnerships.

Though some people might argue, that competition helps people get inured to extreme pressure conditions and compete with other teams and corporations in the market, I would say, there will be no competition to participate into if the team doesn't have an efficacy high enough to contest. Rather we must focus primarily on cooperation that improves the team performance first. Thus, in sum the above three reasons buttress my opinion about why a sense of cooperation is key to nurturing leadership qualities among the younger generation of the society.