According to a poll of 200 charitable organizations, donations of money to nonprofit groups

increased by nearly 25 percent last year, though not all charities gained equally. Religious

groups gained the most (30 percent), followed by environmental groups (23 percent), whereas

educational institutions experienced only a very small increase in donations (3 percent). This

poll indicates that more people are willing and able to give money to charities but that funding

for education is not a priority for most people. These differences in donation rates must result

from the perception that educational institutions are less in need of donations than are other

kinds of institutions.

The author of the argument is convinced that the perceptions that education institutions are less in need of donations might have lead to discrepancies in the donations when compared to other sectors. The notion is based on the poll results of 200 charitable organisations posits that the money to non profit groups though increased by 25 percent than the previous year, saw unequal share in gains in various sectors, with the religious and environmental groups fairing better than the educational instituitions. The author seems to base his argument on some unwarranted assumptions that are discussed as following.

What was the age range of the donors and were they reported by the charitable organizations in the poll? Perhaps, the donations to charitable organizations are made by settled and established individual organizations and lesser by the younger generation who understand the importance of education far better. Since the younger generations are not yet settled or established properly, they are unable to donate or donate in pittances. The author should investigate the demographic of the donors of the charitable organisations so as to better simulacrum that how much of the population might have certain reservations towards religion based on their orthodox upbringing in their previous generations.

The author fails to provide a quantification for the usual last year's donations so that the percentages can be used to compare the actual increase of donations in the various sectors. It might be possible that the donations are education were high enough that the a significantly larger increase in donations ( even larger than the religious instituitions) reflects as a mere 23 percent. Thus the percentages are a relative measure and shows how the sectors have gained in respective to their previous standings but is vague when used to compare with others. The author can interpolate the absolute donation figures of the previous years to give an absolute picture of the increases in each sectors that can then be used for a meaningful comparison.

Lastly, it is possible that the people don't prefer donating to educational instituitions because educational instituitions unlike religious insitituitions and environmental groups charge money. The education industry is based on a non-profit model though certain organizations are. This could rather be the root cause, that explains the notion, why people would donate less to this sector. It might thus be possible that people don't relagate education in the triage and rather it is because the education instituitions are seem to be well enough without donations. The author fails to consider this and the assumptions fails short to explain the above reasoning.

In sum, the argument stands weak as of now. The author should gather more information on the demographic of the donating population and also the donation sums of the previous years to draw meaningful parallels between the different non-profit sectors. The author can make a cogent case if he/she is succesful in corporating the above mentioned evidences to the argument.