"It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves."

Identity is one of the cardinal aspects of any human being. Let it be any animal or even plants, most of the living flora and fauna and all life on this planet have an unique identification. Yet when we consider humans we tend to adhere to a different perspective, where an individual is identified based on his or her standings of the society. This might be one of the prime features of human derived from the fact that human beings are gregarious animals. But the claim that the primary identification of an individual is solely based on the social groups that they belong to might be a far-fetched statement. There are two conspicuos reasons that makes me think that and they are explaoned below.

Most of the times the social groups we belong to are not chosen by us but we are associated to them by virtue of birth. Humans unfortunately cannot chose the family they wish to be born into. The social group into which they are born into are imposed on them. For example a child who took birth in an orthodox hindu family in a small town in the country of India had no control over his gateway to the mortal world. As soon as he or she is out of the mother's womb, the apellations and the customs and social views that are associated with the group (their family belongs to) are now valid for him or her. The upbringing of the child among the social group shapes the child's incipient mortal mind. Thus the social group he or she will belong to by virtue of birth will always or to some extent will be imposed on them even if they evince iconoclasm towrds them as they grow up.

The social groups in which an individual is found to exist might not be a proper identification as it based mainly on generalization. By generalizing an individual based on the groups he mixes with or lives with leaves no chance for that individual's self expression and individuality to get considered for their identification. For instance it has been found in various psychological surveys that an individual's form of self expression in most cases and the how they express themselves when in their group have great disparity. It was also found that the individuals having similar characters and traits that aligned with the overall character of the social group they belonged to, still had some unique sides to their personalities which were noteable and strong forms of self expression unique to that individual. This shows that by generalization based on social groups we might fail to recognize the uniqueness an individual possess.

Identification based on social groups greatly undermines individuality and even digresses individuals from their path of self discovery and realization. When we identify someone based on their social group it is fairly possible, that the individuals might force themselves to express according to the social construct. That might not work for that individual. This can lead to problems for example situational depression. The person might suffer from delusions about what his character and form must look and behave like but it would not be possible for them to do so because their snubbed individuality is the only true form that they can express themselves through and needs to be discovered

In conclusion the above reasonings are the salient reasons why we should refrain from identifyinf individuals based on their social groups. We are trying to identify individuals and generalization as the first step is questionable thing to do isn't it? I would rather feel more empowered if some one acknowledges me to be the person who I am for how I articulate and present myself in honesty then being refered to as an individual belonging to a certain caste, religious or social background.