Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

With the advent of online "blogosphere" political discourse has experienced a severe downfall. Firstly with the increase of content on the online platforms the attention span of a regular human being has decreased drastically, which results to people looking for less-time consuming alternatives for any desultory aspect of their daily life. The online blogosphere thus helps people in getting a less-time consuming source of information than going through a regular news broadcast. The blogosphere is purportedly a less-time consuming alternative to news broadcast and their news coverage.

The problem that it engenders is that though the less-time consuming blogosphere may seem to be a better alternative to actually tuning in for a daily news broadcast but regular people fail to judge the authenticity of the blogs they come across online. The authenticity and relevance of any article is of paramount importance if something is to be derived from it that would directly and indirectly affect any individual. With the paucity of fact checking organizations and uprising of the blogosphere the amount of fake news transmission can be compared to an epidemic.When political discourse is concerned the authenticity and the relevance of any article if found to be poor but in circulation among the general public, the misinformation that spreads after, might lead to resentment in public sentiments in particular communities or collectives. Such incidents can result to unnecessary violence and uproar.

As more and more people express their opinions, which may or may not be biased, the risk of getting attacked violently due to individual intolerances are increasing. In recent times in the United States, more cases of hate crimes and racial crimes are being reported and the roots of those crimes in most cases lie in the false narratives that were presented in some online article on the internet. Expressing opinions but at the same time not agreeing to disagree is one of the sole reasons for violence and diatribes across the blogosphere.

Though blogosphere does have advantages of fast and local reporting along with detailed analysis of political happenings, by individuals and groups they are rendered useless if they are not fact checked and relevant. Thus it undermines the reporting and news coverage done by news agencies and the claims is based on the reasons stated.