It is primarily through formal education that a culture tries to perpetuate the ideas it favors and

discredit the ideas it fears.

The urge to propagate one's culture has always been one of the salient intentions of human beings and they take immense pride in doing so. They may go as far as to imbue the rudimentary knowledge about their culture to the upcoming generation and the neophytes with the assistance of formal education. My thoughts do align with the statement that a culture tries to proliferate through the formal education, meanwhile discriminating between ideas that the culture is apprehensive about. The following two paragraphs state the reasons, to explicate my opinions.

Cultures try to increase their reach to ecumenical proportions and education serves as one of the best devices that can champion this. For example, the indian values called "sanskaar" which elucidates a way of living life. One of the customs that this indian value marks as taboo is the public mentioning of anything related sexual intercourse. This notion of taboo is then supported by the study curriculums, where according to recent surveys, almost all state government biology text books fail to add the chapter of "Human Reproductive System". Moreover if there is a mention of the human reproductive system in a textbook the teachers who are an important part of the education system tend to cower away from teaching the topic. Thus this goes to show that cultures do bridle the propagation of ideas that contradicts the ideas ratified by the culture.

Cultures ensures that those who receive education be abreast of the customs and rituals that define the culture. It was found in a recent study that subjects like geography and history text books that were being taught to students across hundred schools in America, had broached about the American ideals, and makes an effort to ellicit a nationalistic feeling within the students. The ideals that were pondered upon in the textbooks were not pertinent but that is how the formal education helps the cultures burgeon. Thus this goes to show how subtle mentions of the customs and rituals associated to a particular culture are perpetuated through formal education to its recipients.

Culture subdues critical thinking when it gets pushed by the formal education system. Iexamples have been seen in recent years in a significant number of surveys that culture when tries to propagate through the education system subdues the critical thinking amongst the recipients of the education. There are numerous things that cultures favour that can be disavowed completely by scientific and critical thinking faculties but once these are subdued, as one receives this form of education in their formative years, they are already handicapped to lead their life in a modern and rapidly developing world. This world requires critical thinking and scientific approaches to life for survival. Thus it shows how culture can have an even negative influence on people receiving formal education and how it flows through the formal education system and its effects thereafter.

In sum, the above reasons bolster my opinion that cultures do endure to perpetuate through formal education, discriminating against ideas that it considers as taboo. Germane examples that delineate the occurence are discussed.