The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous consumer complaints of dizziness and nausea, Promofoods

requested that eight million cans of tuna be returned for testing last year. Promofoods

concluded that the cans did not, after all, contain chemicals that posed a health risk. This

conclusion is based on the fact that the chemists from Promofoods tested samples of the

recalled cans and found that, of the eight chemicals most commonly blamed for causing

symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The

chemists did find that the three remaining suspected chemicals are naturally found in all other

kinds of canned foods."

A business magazine article stated that a company called Promofoods was convinced that their canned products that were reported to be causing dizziness and nausea amongst its consumers does not pose a health hazard. The author cites the experimental results that were conducted by the chemists on eigth million cans of tuna that for testing purposes. The author needs to answer or clarify the following three concerns to render the argument cogent.

Does the eight million cans that were recalled for testing were all shipped back to the company in the same condition? Perhaps, the shipping of the containers back to the company from possibly various locations, require different durations for shipment. There is nothing mentioned about the shipping conditions of the cans, either they need refrigeration or not, if they do, were they properly kept cool while the shipping process? The author must delineate the complete simulacrum of the situation as food poisoning is a serious issue and lapses if there had been any, might significantly corrupt the experimental results.

Are the recalled cans in commensurate numbers from all locations all are they concentrated from the place where most reports of health issues originated. It is possible that the reports regarding health issues due to the canned foods might be located withing a smaller region. This would require only a proportional number of cans to tested from those area based on the number of reports. If the reported cases were from a larger area possibly nationwide then one might ask that whether a 8 million is enough to evaluate the associated putative risk factor of the product. The author must state the whether the reports where cloistered to certain regions, or they were spread over a vast area and whether eigth million cans is a commensurate number to be tested. This would ensure the reliability of the experimental data.

How much potent are remaining three types of chemicals that the chemists suggest are found naturally in almost all cans, to cause health issues. Perhaps the three chemicals that are thought to be of common occurence in almost all cans are much more harmful than they are considered. It is possible that the three chemicals deemed natural in every cases for all the cans are conflating with each other resulting into some chemical that is more poisonous than the three of them considered individually. These conflating of chemicals to form a fourth and novel poisonous substance for specific temperature or external conditions is highly probable and must be investigated by the chemists. The author must ensure that the chemists did the experimental testings in such a way in order to answer the above stated concern which is highly possible. The author must clarify is at all such a formation of fourth poisonous chemical is possible or not and if so then how does it affect the consumers.

In conclusion, based on the following concerns stated above the argument is conjectural and stands weak. The author must fortify his argument by providing more details about the shipping conditions of the recalled cans, whether the recalled cans are enough to get significant test results and whether the three chemicals deemed naturally occuring the root of the entire problem. If these clarifications are added by the author then a better and cogent case will be made rendering the argument stronger and more detailed.