As a result of numerous consumer complaints of dizziness and nausea, Promofoods requested that eight million cans of tuna be returned for testing last year. Promofoods concluded that the cans did not, after all, contain chemicals that posed a health risk. This conclusion is based on the fact that the chemists from Promofoods tested samples of the recalled cans and found that, of the eight chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find that the three remaining suspected chemicals are naturally found in all other kinds of canned foods.

The argument states that there are several complains about dizziness and nausea, and as a result, the company Promofoods investigated sample from eight millions tons Tuna from the company asked to return. The author said that the investigation results confirmed that the chemical contents in Tuna don’t have any risk although that Tuna has two chemicals are suspected to do so. The author of this arguement has a lot of questions marks that should be answered. First how the company did reache this coclusion that there is correlation between Tuna and the consumers’ complains. Second, how many complains ddi the company receive compared to the total number of consumers? Third, the two chemical remained in the company’s Tuna, How milligrams are used, is there any investigation has been done to investiagte whether this quantity is safe or not? The author should provide us with all the missing information to make his argument persuasive enough to take it into account.

First, if we look at the first missing information, how the company did reach that the Tuna is the reason for the consumer’s complains? They maybe had such symptoms from other factors such as anemia or other disease cause dizziness. Thus, the author should illustrate how the company did find that the consumers’ complains could be from their product and then they withdrawed eight million can from the market.

Secondly, upon the previous question, if there is a correlation between the Tuna and the costomers’ complains and the company confirmed that by somehow, the author doesn’t mention how many costomers compalined compared to the total number of the compny’s costomers? The answer for this question is crucial to see if the number of the complains is significant or not. The number of complains perhaps don’t exceed one or two percent which doesn’t indicate for any remarkable relationship between the complains and the Tuna. Thus, if the number is such small that means the conclusion drawn in the original argument doesn’t hold water.

Third, the argument mentioned that Tuna has two of five suspected chemicals which maybe cause dizziness and nuasea. However, the author overlooked to illustrate how milligrams used from those two chemicals and to what extent this quantity is safe. As the quantity is important and perhaps cuase the risk of appearing such symptons, the author should provide the reader with all details wether the chemicals existance is safe or not, otherwise, this information do nothing to be persuasive.

In conclusion, the argument as stands is considerably flawed as the author relies on unwarranted assumptions. Thus, the author should provide us with more information and more answers, otherwise, the argument is remarkably unconvinced.