As a result of numerous consumer complaints of dizziness and nausea, Promofoods requested that eight million cans of tuna be returned for testing last year. Promofoods concluded that the cans did not, after all, contain chemicals that posed a health risk. This conclusion is based on the fact that the chemists from Promofoods tested samples of the recalled cans and found that, of the eight chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find that the three remaining suspected chemicals are naturally found in all other kinds of canned foods.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">In the above article, the author stated that since tuna can drinks did not contain 5 out of 8 chemicals which are responsible for the cause of dizziness and nausea, the drink is not a health hazard. The Promofood company concluded this fact based on the evidence that the missing 3 items are generally present in all other kinds of canned foods. However, before we this argument can be evaluated the following questions need to be answered.

First of all, it is stated that tuna cans along with other canned foods do contain 3 chemicals that are responsible for dizziness and nausea cause. Is the percentage of the chemicals in the foods same as that present in other canned foods? Or all the other canned foods safe and do not cause dizziness and nausea? In other words, if the percentage of the 3 existing chemicals is high in tuna canned foods when compared to other canned foods then it can be the reason why there is a consumer complaint about dizziness and nausea. Also, it is no where mentioned if all other canned foods are also safe to drink. If they are also causing the same symptoms then the chemists suggestion to send the cans back to market for sale is not a coherent suggestion.

Secondly, what is possibility that the returned cans and also a sample portion of them is a good representative of the whole production market of the product? In other words, it can happen that the foods that are sent back for testing came were previously manufactured at a single unit and that production unit does add a lot of chemicals, where as in general the product might not be harmful for health. Also, only few samples of the sent back cans are being chosen for testing. If the tested cans are a biased sample set (either too good or too bad) then the Promofoods conclusion drawn based on the above the sample set does not hold water.

Thirdly, What if the scenario that was true last year (or in the past) is no longer true (or may be even worse) in future? In other words, Promofoods have taken their sample from returned cans of last year. This set of canned foods may not be a the same representative for the coming years. Looking at the people's complaints, the company might have controlled the usage of the chemicals in their and the foods may no longer be harmful. If this is the case, then the report sent by Promofoods will be flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the Promofood organization does a sensible experiment on current year's products and answer the above three questions by providing more evidence (perhaps in form of systematic research study) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the recommendation to continue consumption of tuna canned foods.</span><br>