Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education means acquisition of knowledge through techniques like teaching, discussion, directed reasearch etc., A student can get education formally or informally depending on the stability of his family and the restrictions his education system puts in his country. An educational institution is an organization primarily intended to provide education to students using techniques stated in the beginning. Choosing a field of study is often a complex task for any student. Often students ruminate on this and spend months together before finalizing on something. I mostly disagree with the claim suggesting that education institution have right to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed and I provide the following three reasons to support my thesis.

Firstly, the area of field of study which students choose during their college days cannot have a simple definition. That means a field of study a student takes can contain multiple sub-areas. For example, consider a student who chose Mathematics branch as his major because he wanted to pursue his long term career in the field of Machine Learning. If we take the field of Mathematics, we have got various sub-areas like Differential Calculus, Integral Calculus, Numbers, Number Theory, Statistics, Probability, Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Plain Geometry, N-Dimensional Geometry, Topology etc., Student might be doing really good at what matters to him in his long term career. For example in this case, Calculus, Linear Algebra, Probability and Statistics. He might not succeed more in Non-Applied Mathematics areas like Gemotery, Abstract Algebra etc., This does not mean that college should prevent student to further study his courses and stop him proceed further to fulfill his aims.

Secondly, a student knows about himself better than his institution. Now, having said that a student is not doing well in his or her courses does not mean that he can do good in some other course or he is not fit for education. Generally, some educational institutions apply a random strategy to shuffle students instead of leaving it to their choice. For example, there are institutions in this world which selects students who are not doing good in their branch and transfer them to other because the strength (number) of students who pursue the second branch is less. This might not only exacerbate the educational life of a student but also destroy the integrity of the educational institution and hence the nation supporting the institution. This means that the role of a college in student's life should be very minimal and should rather be supportive instead of being futile.

On the contrary, I believe there needs to be some involvement that a college should play in students' education role. For example, let us say a student comes into an educational institution by cracking a tough competitive exam. To be justful to uniformly distribute students across various courses available in the university and also to favor the students based on his merit, colleges generally follow this system of assigning departments based on merit-based councelling system (first best student will get what he wants, second best next and so on). Let's say a student interested in Computer Science couldn't get what he wants to study according to the merit-baed counceling system rule, but got tp do Civil Engineering. Then college should give him a second chance by asking him to study good in his current branch for an year and based on merit again, should permit him to study in the department he wants to pursue education.

In conclusion, hence the topic of role of educational institution in students' educational careers is a complex one. And in my opinion it is not always advisible to leave the decision of pursuing what a student wants in hands of colleges. Their role should be as minimal as possible and they cannot dissuade him from what he's currently doing as it might make things even worse.