As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

technology is the sum of techniques, processes, skills and methods employed in order to accomplish a practical problem in various fields of contemporary world. Although it is very much true that people these days rely more on technology to fulfil their daily needs, I mostly disagree with the extreme opinion that human's thinking ability will surely deteriorate when they depend more on technology for three important reasons.

To begin with, technology is helping humans in everyday life to be more productive in whatever work they do. For example, to solve a set of complex "Coupled Differential Equations" in the subject of "Structural Engineering" one prefers to run "Runge Kutta 4th order Algorithm" on his or her computer, which can do the mundane or repititive task of executing multiple iterations until it reaches the convergence point in just few seconds, that would otherwise take around hours or may be days if one tries to solve it manually. one can use this time wisely for doing other important tasks in his or her life in the meanwhile. this way, a person's ability to do multiple things at the same time became possible with the advent of technology and it doesn't imply that by making the repititive task done by a machine, humans have lost any thinking ability.

Additionally, now-a-days many people in the society are depending on their mobile phones to do their daily tasks like checking emails and sending replies to them during the travel, chatting with friends to rejuvenate their blank minds etc., While these activities have got their own caveats and downsides like they cause to deteriorate the eyesight of many people etc., this can be a challenging open problem statement for "Research and Development" Scientists and Professors. they have to use their sharp brains and this is a real test for the ability of their thought process which implies that technology has given opportunity to a sub group to think for themselves.

On the contrary, history has produced so many virtuoso like Srinivasa Ramanujan in field of Mathematics, Beethoven in field of Music etc., who were able to perform well in their areas of expertise with their own abilities much before the advent of modern techonology tools. modern age experts are no way closer to this level of talent without the support of technology, which kind of says that there are some scenarios where technology has made people somewhat lethargic and difficult to survive without depending on it.

To sum it up, it is evident from the above examples that the topic of influence of technology on people's thinking abilities is a complex study and would need profound analysis. But, an assertion which says that it surely has negative impact on people's thinking abilities is an extreme opinion.