"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of "super screen" movie production company, it is stated by director that super screen should allocate a greater quantity of its budget to reaching the public through advertising in order to ameliorate the marketing issues prevailing in the company. The director has come to this conclusion based on the percentage increase in movie reviews about their specific movies by some reviewers. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated three important questions must be answered.

First of all, do the movies chosen by movie reviewers represent an unbaised sample set? In other words, out of all the movies produced by "super screen" movie production company last year, the specific movies chosen by reviewers should not be something that are block busters at the box office but some mediocre ones or at best the average ones. For example, let us assume "super screen" movie production company last year had produced 20 movies, out of which only 5 of them are good ones and it so happened that the movie reviewers reviewed only these 5 movies, thus resulting in 100 percent of positive reviews. Without loss of generality, if we assume that the percentage of movies with positive reviews from movie reviewers the last before year was 50 percent only, then we can see there is a percentage increase of 100 percentage from before last year to last year (increase from 50 percent to 100 percent). if the above scenario is true, then the argument doesn not hold water.

Secondly, does one set of public's opinion matter in increasing the attention of other public towards movies? The director presumes that there is a direct correlation among interests of different people in the society, because of which he thinks that his strategy to increase markenting techniques would work for all sets of prospective viewers in the society. For example, increasing the advertising might attract people who like the protagonist of the movie but may not significantly effect the set of people who do not like actor. Further, let us say the prospective viewers of "super screen" movies are people who like "Action" genre the most and if the company makes all "Comedy" genre in a particular year then advertising the movie may not have a significant positive impact. if any of the above scenarios has merit, then the strategy designed by director may not be considered to have a pragmatic value.

Thirdly, if the company is allocating more money through advertising will it be still able to produce movies of same quality. In other words, the director of the company does not provide a coherent explanation about effect of allocating more resources for advertising. For example, let us say the investors involved in the company do invest a standard budget of 100 million dollars for the movies they are producing every year, and going by director's strategy if the company currently is investing 50 million dollars for advertising and 50 million dollars for remunerations and other logistics, then in future it would have to invest around 70 million dollars for advertising and hence only 30 million dollars for renumerations. this is not such a good idea as top paid actors which attract most of the prospective movie viewers may not be willing to act in their movies and hence this will reduce the quality of movie produced and thus not a viable solution to increase its movies' market value.

In conculsion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the director is able to answer the above three questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fullly evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to allocate more budget towards advertising in order to attract more public.