The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

In the letter from Linford College Alumni, it is stated by the group of alumni that students' success after graduation is highly dependent on whether the student does an internship before he or she graduates. The alumni came to this conclusion based on the fact that "The Skyway Design" company being so eminent and 80 percent of businesses in Linford City uses their designs. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated following questions must be answered.

Firstly, do the 90 percent of students who said an internship is important involve significant number of arts students? In other words, there can be a skewed distribution across students from various departments who supported the recommendation of pursuing an internship before graduation. For example, the college contains 500 students to be graduated and without loss of generality, let us assume each department contains 100 students. And only 10 students from arts supported the idea and rest 440 members came from other departments. The 90 percent rule is still satisfied but the arts people seem to be least interested in internship and this point is also evident from the fact that only 40 percent of the students completed internship last year. If the above scenario is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, it is also stated that 80 percent of the businesses in City used Skyway's Design. Does that mean that it is the highest used percentage to claim that Skyway is the best option for all students? For example, the City can contain other organizations which have above 90 percent of City's businesses is occupied. In this scenario, the alumni suggestion to choose Skyway for an internship is not the best available option.

Thirdly, does work experience really play an important role in arts student's life? In other words, it is stated that work experience before graduation is important. It can be true that work experience before graduation doesn't matter for arts. But there is no enought evidence presented in order to support this point.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the alumni are able to answer the above questions, and provide more evidence (perhaps in form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommention to suggest students to complete internship before graduation.