Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">Society is a group or collection of people living together. These people may or may not have like minded thoughts. I do not agree with the claim that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes just because some of the them reveal a society's highest ideals. I would like to explain my thesis with following three examples.

To begin with, let us the take case of United states of America (USA). USA is obviously a very well developed nation and most of its development has become possible because of the intelligence of the people who live in the country. They invite students from other parts of the world and provide them enough opportunities to learn and also provide them employment. Now, this same people elected Donald Trump as their President who is treated as a big clown by many people. Hence, the hero elected in this case by people is just a clown who is given that position just for personal advantage of some tech giants and not a true inspiration for the people living in the country. This is very well established by the English company named "Cambridge Analytica" also.

In addition to this, if you consider different heroes from the history, be it fictional or real, everybody has some or other heretic characterism displayed. He is generally not the hero for that generation, but can be a hero for the coming generations. Galileo is a very good example for this. He's the one who proposed the Heliocentric Theory stating that sun is the center of Planetary System. He was However condemned by many of the orthodox people who follow rules and traditions set by churches. He was imprisoned too, which clearly means that he was not considered a hero of their times. However, as Science evolved and developed it is proved that the guy who once was treated as a dogmatic person is now the hero of many people and he is definitely not the best representative sample of his time.

Also, let us take the field of movies. Most of the people in society do like movies and they do admire actors and actresses for their performance on screen. However, no parent generally doesn't want his/her child to become one among them and go and have secret lecherous relationships with multiple personalities out there. One adores actors for their performance im movies only and not for their societal behaviours. Therefore, in this case also heroes cannot be described as a best representatives for in the society's character.

However, one might argue that people like Isaac Newton and Albert Einstien have inspired so many people. It is also true that they were not able to influence many people who are not interested in field of Mathematics or Physics. In conclusion, it can be seen from the above examples that people in different parts of the society have different interest and their heroes are generally different and it is not true that a hero is the best person to be examined to grade a society's character.</span><br>