People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is group of people following different cultures, traditions etc., Ultimately, for a non catastrophic environment everyone must adhere to certain principles that are defined by the law be it Democracy or Republic. I mostly agree with the claim that people's behavior in this society is largely determined by forces and not of their own making. I would support my thesis by presenting two examples in favour of claim and one example against it.

Firstly, as we all know that the current world is mostly driven by money. Decisions people make during investment plans of their savings is mostly driven by the big giants in the society. For example, in the recent days we know the decisions taken in Cryptocurrency world. The subject as such is quite esoteric and so is not something that is understandable by a common man. But, everybody knows the investment is multiplied fast. So, everybody wants to invest in Cryptocurrencies. This thought process of people is making the price of Cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin increase exponentially over last few decades. Thus their behavior is largely determined by the monetary giants in this society and not on their own decision making skills.

Secondly, culture is one important thing that people inherit from others. For example, India now being a developing country and wanting to become a developed country is emulating multiple strategies inspiring from the western countries. For example, let's take the example of productivity website CraigList in United States which lists accomodations so that people who are new to cities can find home quickly. This concept is existing in US from a long time. This is very new to India and is copied from US. India has something called "housing.com", "NestAway", etc., for this purpose. The decision making of one class is thus driven by another, in this case India relying on US.

On the contrary, history has produced so many iconoclasts who went against the popular beliefs in proving their results. For example, consider Galileo who postulated Heliocentric Theory. He was condemned by the church and has been rusticated out of the society. But, after applying Kepler's Laws of Motion, Mathematics has proved Galileo to be right. So, it is not the forces in the nature that is driving every class in this society, but there are certain heretic people who believe in their principles and ultimately become successful thus gaining name and fame.

In conclusion, the topic of people's behavior in this society as observed in above examples is a complex one and has got no easy answers. In my opinion, it is mostly defined by forces in the nature but in some exceptional cases there are people who do their own decision making and excel in their career.