"Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">In the memo from advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, it is suggested by director that to let public know about the quality of their movies, it is required to allocate greater share of budget for advertising. The director came to this conclusion based on the premise that even there are movies are movies of good quality, public are not aware of these movies. However, in order to evaluate the recommendation proposed, the director needs to answer the following three questions.

Firstly, does the scenario happening with the company during the last year repeat even this year or any subsequent years? In other words, it is mentioned by director that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies last year than any other year. It can so happen that during the last year, the company produced only 4 horror movies and in general since masses are not attracted towards this genre it can so happen that they did not prefer to go to cinemas to watch them. So, the plan to allocate more budget for advertising movies does not hold water in this case. Instead, they can produce movies in genre like Sci-Fi, Action, Drama etc., which many of the people these days prefer.

Secondly, does the content of positive reviews not reaching enough people mean that there is no problem with the quality of movies? In other words, there can be some factors which give the movie a good rating even though the quality of movies are bad or even vice-versa can happen. For example, let us the take case of Tom Cruise who is a famous actor and Super Screem produced a movie with him last year. Since, he has great fan following the movie prior to the release itself (may be through the trailer or the motion poster or word of mouth) gained some traction among people and had postitive reviews aggregated on Internet Movie Database (IMDB). However, after the release it is found that the movie is a disaster and the work involved in making is of poor quality. In this case, the plan to increase budget for advertising movies may not be a viable solution as people might have already noticed the gamble once.

Thirdly, when public is not aware of good movies is advertising the best solution? In other words, the director is suggesting this idea just because he's working for the administration and finance department and if the budget is allocated probably he wants to loot commission from the budget. In such a case, allocation more budget for advertising may bpt be a

The argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance upon several unwanted assumptions. However, if the director is able to answer and provide evidence for the above 3 questions (perhaps in form of a systematic research study), it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed recommendation to increase allocation of budget for advertising.</span><br>