The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

In this letter, the author insists that the art department in Linford College should require all students to complete an intership with Skyway Designs company before graduation. To support the argument, the author cites the survey revealing college graduates' think that intership experience increases students' chances of finding a job after graduation and gives three reasons why Skyway Designs company is a good option for the mandatory intership program: interships opportunities in all departments, flexible working hours, and conducting vital role in City besiness. In my perspective, this arguments is flawed and fragile as it stands.

First of all, the author relies on a dubious assumption that the college graduates' opinion is same with the students' opinion. If there is a discrepency between the two, students in art school would disagree with the new policy. Perhaps, the situation has been changed, so intership would no longer helpful when students get a job, as the low rate of attending intership program betrays. Or, in contrast of what graduates' thinking, intership programs does not give any merit after graduate. Without suggesting that to what extent and how the experience help student in the future, we cannot concede with the argument.

Secondly, the author's argument is problematic because suggested three reasons are still questionable whether those factors help to suggest a good working condition for students. To explain, even though all departments in the Company offer intership programs, it is possible that every student want to work in a design department which has limited position, thus some of students would end up getting opportunities in the department that they are not intested in. In addition, due to those company provide important services for over 80 percent of business in the City, the workload that students get might be too huge. It could give them so much burden and stress that a student might no longer want to work as a designer.

Lastly, even conceding that three reasons contribute to create good environment, the author unfairly assumes that suggested three reasons is a sufficient factor of deciding internship company for all students. It is plausible that the more important factors exist for some students. For example, students who want to work in a globally prestigious company in the future might do not want to work in the local company. Similarly, students who

In conclusion, the author should answer the following questions; Does an intership experience really benefit students? Does the suggested three points give sufficient merits to students? Does the given three reasons are enough to decide an intership company? Only by answering all the aforementioned question can one say that the author is right.