One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the reading passage insists that Sunnyside Corporation should change their showerheads that can restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be, which are in all twelve Sunnyside Towers. The author argues the change will increase profits without any serious problem due to the cost-saving from the alteration. However, in my perspective, the argument is flawed and needs to provide more evidence to strengthen the claim.

To begin with, the author needs to provide evidence to support the claim that the change will bring no problem. According to the reading, there are a few complaints and not a big deal. However, it is possible that the problem is not negligible as the author claim. In addition, in the near future more complaints might be cast from a wide range of people in the tower because the reported complaints were collected for a month thus a small fraction of the total complaints are collected. Thus, before giving the exact number of complaints and its contents collected for sufficient period, the author cannot convince us.

Even conceding that the complaints in three towers can be deemed as a minor problem, the author hastily concludes that there will be no complaints also in the other nine buildings. The author draws what might be a poor analogy between the three towers’ circumstances and the other nine towers'. There might be possible differences between buildings. It is plausible that nine buildings are at a high altitude and thus more inconvenient when showerheads are changed to water-saving ones, leading more complaints and disagreements. In this regard, the author should illustrate all details information about surrounded environments of the buildings.

Moreover, the author should explain how much savings will be because of the change of showerheads. The author unfairly assumes that restricted maximum water flow obviously results in the reduced usage of water and fails to consider and eliminate other possible consequences. The most probable result is that people use more water because they have to take a shower longer than ever before. In this case, the corporation will end up paying more monthly payment for Sunnyside Towers water usage. In short, before making the suggestion, the author has to suggest the actual readings of water usage when it becomes available.

In a nutshell, the author gives the unwarranted claim that Sunnyside Corporation should expand its modification of showerheads to all of its buildings based on the implication that the showerheads will obviously contribute to reducing spending on three buildings. To bolster the argument, the author should provide all three aforementioned evidence.