Although innovations such as video, computers, and the internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Many would say that the recent development of internet technology hampers students’ learning. In some sense, students are more susceptible to distractions because of the innovations. However, I still believe that we cannot easily ignore the benefits of improved methods for instruction.

Of course, it is undeniable that students are distracted a lot from computers and smartphones they have. In the classroom, teachers have tried hard to regulate internet usages to keep students’ attention on a lecture since they easily lose their concentration. Also, nowadays, we can easily observe the young who keep eyes on a smartphone in the subway, cafe, and road. These illustrate how many students are addicted to the Internet. Thus, no one can easily impugn that internet technology impedes students’ best learning.

Despite the negative side effect, I believe innovative technologies can be wisely used to increase learning efficiency. Students can keep their concentration on a video clip because it interestingly conveys information. Moving pictures, narrative, and sound effects are integrated into a single video and help better understanding for learners. In fact, tons of scientific research already proved the increased learning ability of students when educators use improved innovative methods. Many teachers in primary school also report decent outcomes after they tried using video materials in classroom. For example, my mother who is an elementary school teacher said that her students focused well when they watched science video clips on Youtube. The video is not only fascinating but also highly educational. In this regard, computers and the Internet can refine a traditional learning environment using textbooks.

Moreover, educators can offer various learning materials to students, thanks to the Internet. Educators simply search on the Internet and find useful things such as videos, vlogs, and research papers. They no longer need to concoct all class supplements themselves. All they have to do is search on the Internet and select apt information for their students. For instance, there is a famous internet site in South Korea used by high school teachers all around the nation. They uploaded class materials in which they made by themselves and shared link of references. In this way, teachers not only save time but also provide high-quality out-of-class materials to students.

In sum, I firmly believe using high-technology devices is the most salutary way for students to be instructed because they can attain useful knowledge of what class cannot fully cover. Also, intriguing visuals provided by the Internet attract students’ attention and make students entirely immersed in their studies.