Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Many would say that appearances and images are nothing. We often tempt to say that the reality and truth inside of the things is the most important things. Unfortunately, in my perspective, in the modern society, creating an appealing image becomes more and more crucial. Scrutinizing some observation would help us to better understand the situations.

To begin with, take examples in a business field as an example. Many companies spend most of time and effort to create good brand image in multiple ways. Companies have to appeal customers by creating impressive images, such as high-quality products, reasonable prices, or fashionable designs. Without creating images, products are hardly recognized and purchased by customers. In addition, many companies want to show they are beneficial to society. Sometime executives donate huge amount of money or participate volunteering program, all of which is necessary for image of salutary company. It is a shame because companies often judge only by those showy actions and news on the press regardless of their real impacts on a society. It would be more beneficial if customers take account into the company's impact on environmental problem, workers’ environment, and so on.

Moreover, the same phenominon can be observed when people judge famous people, politicians, celebrities. Because of the advancement of mass media, the public can only be exposed to the information that television of newspaper conveys. Any good or bad image is created in the controlled studio with scripts. Often, the directors of the television program or the leaders of the newspaper decide to manipulate the clips or use tendentious words. The intention of the makers affects people's views and perspectives toward a famous person. In this situation, the celebrities and politician cannot but focus on their appearances and speeches, rather than culture one's good characteristic.

However, in a long term perspective, we cannot hastily ignore the importance of strengthen one's true values. Take examples of products and celebrities again. If the product is not good enough, customers would not buy the product again once they recognize its poor quality. In addition, the bogus appealing image can always be uncovered under the media scrutiny.

In a nutshell, strives to created appealing images are so pervasive that we cannot ignore the fact that creating images become more and more critical factor to succeed. Nonetheless, the truth value of anything is also needed in order to be a long-run person or product. In this regard, the appealing image is necessary for succeed, and the truth virtue is required to maintain it success.