No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Many would say that any field cannot advance significantly without corporates knowledge of other fields. Admittedly, I acknowledge there are huge merits we can get when bringing a new, fresh idea from outside of own field. However, I still disagree with the statement that no field of study can find breakthrough unless it integrates experience from outside the field.

Of course, there are many benefits we can get from interdisciplinary projects. When experts stock in an obsolete, rigid perspective in own field, different perspective would be helpful to think outside of the boxes. In addition, theories and findings in one field are also used to find solution to the problem in another field. In short, it is true that integration among two or more fields can contribute to progress of fields.

Nonetheless, the advantages of integration among fields do not necessarily indicate that outstanding improvement in a field can only be achieved by the integration between fields. The noteworthy findings can also be achieved in a relatively short period of time when the time comes after a lot of endeavors from experts have been accrued for a long time. In many fields, we can easily observe that a breakthrough suddenly comes out to the world after long period of no significant progress. For example, there is not much improvement in a data science field during last five decades, but after all algorithms and ideas accumulated by scholars, the data science field now reaches their heyday. The increased processing abilities of computer ignite the sudden improvement, but what makes it possible are hard works of the experts in the field.

Moreover, important feats can also be achieved after repeated experiments. After uncountable trial-and-errors and a series of modification of hypothesis, when an experiment finally succeeds, an accomplishment comes out to the world, which has potent to change the world. For instance, in physics, there are many examples of findings, such as law of gravity, the behavior of electronics, finding the existence of atom, all of which brought significant difference and have been widely used until these days. Those invaluable findings are achieved not by fresh ideas from outside the field, but by numerous experiments from diligent scientists.

In a nutshell, considering the rapid, enormous improvements that can achieve by repeated experiments and accumulated experience of professionals who engage in one field during the entire life, it is hard to agree with the given statement. Only by ignoring the all aforementioned factual examples can one say that outside the field experience and knowledge is the most critical factor of achieving substantial development of a field.