Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a long time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion. Be sure to use your own words.

M any young people say that they want independence from their parents as soon as possible. In some senses , this position is understandable because young people can protect their privacy in their daily lives by being independent. However, I still think that living with parents for a longer period is advantageous for the reasons below.

First and foremost, young adults can save much time and money by staying at their family home. Being independent is costly. One has to pay for rent, groceries, and other fees by oneself. In contrast , one can split costs with family members. Similarly , one can save much time by sharing responsibilities for chores with family. According to recent statistics in South Korea, people who live alone spend twice as much on living costs as people who live with family. Additionally , those who live alone spend three times more time conducting mundane housework than those who live with family . In this regard, living with family saves both time and money.

Moreover, young people share moments with their family by living in the same house, which is beneficial to relationships within families. In particular, young people who are too busy to spend extra time with their family might have difficulty making good memories with their family. For instance, since my sister works for a consulting company, where she is extremely busy, my parents and I barely saw her when she lived independently near her company. However, since she moved into our home, our family has spent much more time together having breakfast and dinner every day . Thanks to our time spent together, our family bond is now stronger than ever before. In short, living together gives more chances to spend time with each other, which in turn enhances relationships among family members.

In conclusion, despite some benefits from being independent, I firmly believe that young adults gain more advantages if they live with their families for a longer time . Living with their family enables young people to save their money , liberates them from burdensome house chores, and ensures more family time.