Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time.

Many young people say that they want independence from their parents as soon as possible. In some sense, this position is understandable because the young can protect their own privacy in daily life by being independent. However, I still think that living with parents for a longer period is advantageous for the reasons below.

First and foremost, young adults can save a lot of time and money by staying their family home. Being independence costs a lot. One should pay a rent, grocery, and other fees by oneself. On the contrary, one can split the bill with the family members. In the same vein, one can save much time for chore by sharing responsibility with family. According to the recent statistics in South Korea, people who live alone spend living costs as much twice as people who live with family spend. Also, those who live alone spend three times more time than those who live with family doing mundane houseworks. In this regard, living with family saves both time and spending.

Moreover, the young share moments with their family by living in the same house, which is beneficial to relationship within families. Especially, the young who are too busy to spend extra time with their family might have difficulty to make good memories with their family. For instance, since my sister works for a consulting company where is extremely busy, my parents and I barely met her when she lived independently near her company. However, after she moved in to our home, our family has spent much time together during having a breakfast and a dinner everyday. Thanks to the time spending together, our family bond is now stronger than ever before. In short, living together gives more chances to spend time with each other, which in turn enhances relationship among family members.

In conclusion, despite some benefits from being independent, I firmly believe that young adults get more merits as they live longer time with their families. Living with family enables the young to save their budget, liberates them from burdensome house chores, and ensures family time.