Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Government officials have a wide range of jobs - there are legislative politicians, judges, regulation officials, etc. Some of these roles should rely more on the will of the people they serve, and others should more base their decisions on their own judgement.

In the United States, the House of Representatives is meant to represent the will of the people, therefore they have a duty to carry out the wishes of their constituents. They should not put their party or their want for power above that will. That is not to say that they should not advocate for their positions - they should freely and openly share those positions with their constituents, so that the voters can decide if they are adequately represented at each election.

On the other hand, some government officials are not elected and therfore should not always go with the will of the people. For intance, federal judges are appointed and confirmed and, theoretically, should know more about the law than the average citizen. They should absolutely bring their extra knowledge into their decision making process. This will not always align with what the majority of the people want. Another example would be government officials appointed to positions that regulate the financial world and control environmental regulations. These people again, theoretically, are experts in their fields and therefore know more about these industries than the average person, and are better suited to make decisions based on their own judgement.

Appointed officials should rely on their own judgement when they make decisions. whereas elected officials should more heavily consider their constituents wishes.