The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The website of the Mozart School of Music makes the school sound very impressive to potential clients. They believe that their school should be the first choice for any parent wishing to begin music lessons for their child.

The school assumes that not having an audition is a positive thing to parents wishing to enroll their children in music lessons. It probably is for many parents - especially those who have children who have never participated in any sort of music lessons. Those parents likely want a school that knows how to teach from scratch. This may be a negative to parents of children who are already gifted in an instrument and want to ensure their child has ample attention to grow. They may believe a lack of audition indicates a lack of prestige and think the school is not right for their more gifted child.

The school also assumes that offering a wide range of genres and musical instruments is a positive to all parents. Again, this is likely great for parents with children who do not have any musical experience - children will be able to experience a wide variety of music and, hopefully, find something they enjoy. On the other hand, children who already know what they like may be frustrated if they have to try genres and instruments they already know they dislike. Parents may feel that such varied offerings indicates that the school does not excel at any one instrument or genre, including their child's chosen one.

Finally the site states that the school has many graduates that have gone on to become successful musicians and have distinguished area-musicians as faculty. This, unlike the previous arguments, is likely more appealing to the parents who have children who are experienced in music. They likely would want their child being taught by people who know what it takes to pursue their child's passion for music. On the other hand, parents who have children just getting into music might feel like being taught by distinguished musicians is a waste - their child could likely learn the basics at a fraction of the cost and then, if passionate, could pursue an education from a place like the Mozart School of Music.

The Mozart School of Music is trying to cater to every type of parent - they believe all parents should see them as the first choice. In doing so, their appeal to parents of children with and without musical experience is not as strong as it could be if instead the school tried to specialize in either teaching youngsters with no abilities or having auditions and only teaching the best children.