The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Grove college is making the decision to remain an all female college based primarily on a student survey and alumnae survey, and is disregarding the majority of the faculty members, who would prefer to change to a co-ed style campus.

The student survey resulted in 80% of students taking the survey believing that Grove College should remain an all female campus. The recommendation, however, does not state what percent of students actually participated in this survey. Eighty percent is a large majority, so if most students completed this survey then the recommenders stating that keeping the college as all female would improve morale among students is likely accurate. However, if only a small subset of students actually completed this survey then it is essentially meaningless with regards to how the larger student body feels about this topic. In this case, perhaps having a mandatory meeting with a vote would be a better way to find out how most students feel about the proposal.

The recommenders also state that they have decided to keep the college all female because they want alumnae to continue their financial support of the college. Again, we do not know how many alumnae completed the survey or if they are the same alumnae who donate to the college. Perhaps the people who donate the most, did not have time to fill out the survey and in actuality do not care if the college remains all female. The faculty predict that admitting men would encourage more students to apply to Grove - could their application fees outweigh the potential loss in alumnae support? Would the newer alumnae, grateful for the new opportunity to attend Grove donate more than current alumnae?

With the flawed surveys, the recommendation by the president and administrative staff of Grove College appears inconclusive. They need to conduct further research on this matter before making the decision to keep Grove an all female campus or to integrate men onto the campus.