Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Colleges and universities requiring faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in relevant professions, at first glance, is a good idea, but is one that may bring unintended negative consequences.

The goal of most students entering college is to receive an education that will allow them to be successful in the careers they choose to pursue after obtaining their degrees. Students rely on professors to impart on them the knowledge and skills that will be necessary in their future endeavors. Then, it would seem, university faculty working in the same professions that their students one day hope to work in would be beneficial to the students at these institutes of higher learning.

The world outside of academia consists primarily of for-profit institutions. If university faculty are required to work in these areas then conflicts of interests will inevitably arise, and these conflicts may result in students learning highly biased information. For instance, a geology professor not required to work in a relevant field can freely present evidence on climate change - both the weakness and strengths of the arguments. On the other hand, a geologist who must work outside academia may find work in oil and gas and their company may not like the professor teaching ideas that may lead to negative impacts on their bottom lines. The professor then must choose between giving a biased lecture or losing their jobs - after all the university requires them to maintain employment outside of academia, so losing their oil and gas job may result in them losing their position at the college as well.

Academia is unique in that money is not the sole motivating factor of progress. Academia allows progress to occur which may not otherwise occur because of this fact. Research that may not have a direct financial impact, but could be otherwise useful, is often cast aside for more financially-driven initiatives in worlds outside of academia. For example, in cancer research both treatment and early detection are important for patient survival; however, treatment is more profitable for major industries such as pharmaceutical companies whereas early detection does not directly impact industry profit as much. Early detection, then, often must be funded through non-profit mechanisms. Forcing faculty to work in industry could lead to these important topics being under-studies and hinder societal progression.

While it is true that students often have the goal of finding a good job after they finish their degrees, it is key that the faculty teaching students at universities and colleges are allowed to be free from the inherent biases that forcing them to work in relevant professions would likely cause.