Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the last 50, even 100, years technology has changed exponentially. It can be hard for an individual to keep up with the each and every new advancement, but each technological advancement simplifies our collective lives. While technology can lead to life being more complicated, overall it has simplified our lives.

The most important way in which technology has simplified our life is in our communication with one another. Look at the progression of communication - starting with letters and moving to land lines. Now, with the internet and text message, we are virtually able to communicate with anyone in the world at anytime nearly instantaneously. No longer do we have to go to the post office to mail out invitations to a child's birthday - we can easily make a facebook event. This increased communication has helped in advancing society. Scientists can share results and collaborate from across the world, so that the best minds in the world can work together to solve complex problems. Teachers can reach students across the globe who may have not had access to an education before with the click of a button - what could be more simple?

Technology has simplified our lives in other ways as well. With the invention and popularization of smartphones, most have a powerful computer in the palms of our hands at all times. This device has taken tedious tasks and streamlined them - instead of buying a map for a road trip or printing directions from map quest, we can type almost any address into our phone and it will navigate us there. We can have our calendars, address books, and financial records all in one convenient mobile location.

Although technology has simplified our lives overall, there are some complications it brings. Our old address books and calendars don't break - we never had to call IT support for them. As technology improves, though, this complication should lessen.

Technology has lead to simpler methods of communication across the world and streamlined many of our everyday, time-consuming tasks. As technology continues to improve, these simplifications are likely to continue progressing.