Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What approach goverment should follow while making making a judgment has been a long debate while some believe that they should consider the will of the people they serve others believe that they should make decisions based on their own judgment. Since the primary motive of the government should be to serve the people my view is partly align to the first one.

The primary purpose of a democratic goverment is to reform its people lives. If the goverment are given liberty to make decisions on their own most of the decisions they make would benefit themselves rather than the people. This will undermine the purpose of democracy. For instance, In North Korea peope are suffering from severe starvation resulting in deaths of millions of people still officials are inclined towards bolstering their defense sector. Recent testing of a long range missile shows their frivolous attitude towards the life of their people. On one hand their people are suffering instead of augmenting their situation they are ulitizing the much needed resources for defense.

Furthermore, If government tend avoid people’s will and their views they would not be in power for long time as people would start protesting against the goverment. For instance, In 2014 Ukranian goverment had a strong predilection towards Russia because of which they refused a deal with Europe. I strong pro western protest occured in ukraine and they were successfull in overthrowing the government. Its imperative for government to align their views according to their people needs.

However, I concede that in some areas its better that government make decisons based on their own judgment as public interference would impede the decision making process. For instance, India signed rafale planes deal with France recently. Ideally the deal was supposed to be signed much earlier, but people were wrongly influenced by oppositions and therefore they created problem in the decision making leading to unnecessary delay.

In conclusion, Its important for the goverment to consider will of the people they serve before making decisons as their and people view should exist in discord for the betterment of the country. However few sectors such as medical and defense where technical expertise is required government can make decisions on their own.