“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Author feels that Techcorporation is the top pick for investment this term this conclusion is based on evidence that many people are unhappy with the current satellite provider and there is only one alternative thats Techcorporation. The conclusion is flawed in many respects and could better evaluated if following questions are answered.

Firstly, What percentage of people respondeded to the consumer survey form? The Author prematurely assumes that since 80% respondents where unhappy with the current service that means many people were unhappy. However this might not be the case, the number of people responded to the consumer survey form might be a small fraction of total consumer and therefore not a viable method to evaluate the consumer sentiments. A proper research is needed on the total number of customers current satellite provider has and out of them how many of them are unhappy.

Secondly, Is the quality of satellite technology developed by Techcorporation better than current provider? The author only talks about dissatisfaction of consumer with current provider but fails to provide any details regarding their quality of satellite and how they are different from current provider. For instance, If the Techcorporation satellite proved to be worst than the current provider then consumer might abstain themselves from swithching to Techcorporation even though they are unhappy with the current provider. A proper research on the wow factor of Techcorporation satellite and how they will draw consumer is needed.

Thirdly, Cost that took to built the satellite? The author prematurely assumes that since it will break the monopoly it will be profitable without providing any evidence to bolster the assumption. It might be possible that there was high cost incurred in building the satellite technology and therefore the company would operate in losses for first few initial years before they become profitable. Also other costs such as maintainence and staff salary would add to more expense and threfore it might not be the right time to invest in the company.

The conclusion is based on several unwarranted assumptions. Once the author answer the above mention question through proper research and surveys the viability of the claim can be further assesed.