The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The advice given in the newsletter is to invest in the company "Techcorporation" for profitable returns, but a few questions need to be answered in order to determine whether the advice is flawed or not.

Is Techcorporation the only company that has developed satellite technology? The paragraph states that in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA, but what if this is the only company in the last decade that has developed a satellite technology, in that case, receiving an approval by the FTA does not carry as much importance as conveyed through the newsletter.

Does Techcorporation solve the complaints which consumers had in the survey? This is an important point to be analyzed because if "Techcorporation" does not solve the issues which were faced with the previous satellite television provider, then the consumers would not be satisfied with the service and the chances of the company being profitable are unlikely.

What is the cost of shifting from the old satellite provider to the facilities of "Techcorporation"? The cost of transition from the old satellite provider to the one provided by techcorporation is not known, there exists a possibility that the cost is so high that people do not wish to transition and continue using the old service, so this factor plays a major role in determining the success of "Techcorporation".

Is the future predictable and certain? There can be various unlikely situations such as bankruptcy, the company turns out to be a fraud, later it is known that the approval has been taken by bribing the officials of the FTA, the services might even be worse as compared to current satellite television provider, and worst among all, an economic breakdown.

The advice might turn out to be true but if a more detailed analysis on the above questions would be provided, it would incline more people towards investing in this new venture "Techcorporation".