The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company has made some unwarranted assumptions and concludes that next year if more budget is allocated to advertising, a higher audience will watch the movie, but before this can be held true, two questions need to be answered.

Was the genre of the movie released last year same as the one which is liked by majority of the audience? It is quite possible that the genre of the movie was liked only by a few individuals. These individuals might also include the movie reviewers which resulted in the increase in number of positive reviews. If a greater share of budget is allocated in advertising this year and the genre is the unchanged, there are high chances that the goal might not be achieved since majority of the people are not inclined towards this genre.

What was the social situation last year? It might be possible that an epidemic had occured last year and due to restrictions people avoided going to theatres to watch movies, though they were aware about the release. This means that the assumption that there is a lack of advertising is baseless. This year if the restrictions have been eased and the epidemic is no longer of any danger to the people, the number of people going to watch the movie might increase tremendously. There is no need to increase the budget for advertising then.

Further, it is also possible that there was an economic breakdown in the year the movie was released, people had great difficulty in meeting ends and could not afford the luxury of watching a movie, though they were aware that a movie has released. This has no relation with the lack of the advertisement that the director seems to claim. This year the economy might be stabilizing and people might go the watch the movie in great numbers, but this would not be because of the increase in budget for advertising.

The above instances show the the argument is flawed in many ways and the assertion that increasing budget for advertising will attract more people to watch the movie is groundless.