The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that Sanlee teachers should assign homework no more than twice a week in a hope to augment their students performances. This conclusion was based on the evidence that Marlee students earned better grades despite receiving less homework compared to Sanlee students. This arguement is flawed in many respects and can be better evaluated if following questions are answered.

Firstly, Is the situation of both the district schools simliar? The author prematurely assumes that since less homework method is working for Marlee students it will also work for Sanlee students which might not be the case. For instance, It might be possible that the Marlee district students are smarter compared to Sanlee students and therefore they don’t require homework to revise their concepts but Sanlee students might require homeowork to revise their concept daily which might help them perform better compared to their own potential.

Secondly, Is there any connection between homework and grades? The Author tries to draw a relationship between amount of homework assigned and grades student score. It might be possible that the grades of student are affected by other factors rather than homework. For instance, Schools in Marlee might have adopted a better method of teaching compared to Sanlee district schools or the resources used by Marlee students such books and notes are better than the one used by Sanlee students. A proper research is needed to identify exactly how is Marlee schools better.

Thirdly, Are the Number of students in both district same? The Author only compares the overall grade of the students but talks little about the number of students in each district. It might be possible that there are fewer students in Marlee district and therefore they have better overall grades. For instance, there might be only 100 students in Marlee district compared to 1000 students in Sanlee district and so it is more likely that Marlee district’s overall grade would be higher than Sanlee district students.

In conclusion, The arguement is based on severall unwarranted assumptions. The arguement can be properly evaluated if author provides answers to above mention questions through proper research and surveys.