Q. The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

According to the author we should to instill sense of cooperation rather than competition in young people in order to prepare them for the leadership roles. Cooperation has always been an essential quality of a good leader therefore I agree with the author's claim.

One of the cardinal quality of a leader is to sacrifice his or own ego and cooperate with others in order to reform its people life. From childhood we are made to work on various group projects, sometimes we did'nt like our group still we worked together to complete projects. Similiarly, leaders will be faced with many such situations where in they will need to cooperate with their rivals for the betterment of the organization. For instance, In India during COVID pandemic different ministers of diiferent states worked together to eradicate covid from the country, if there were dissentation between the states than this would not have been possible.

Furthermore, cooperation teaches young people to make compromises for betterment while competition adds preasure on them to outperform their rival. For instance, In India to get admission in IIT 's students study rigorously for 2 years due to severe competition the stress on student builds up soo much that few people end their life if they fail to get a good rank.

However, I concede that there should be some amount of competiton often in order to bring best from the leaders. Sometimes sense of competition encourages people to perform better otherwise they would get complacent and would'nt try hard to progress. For instance, Employess in the company try their best to get employee of the month award. The award does create a sense of competition among employess which encourages them to perform their best.

In conclusion, Cooperation is one of the most skills of good leader and should be instilled in young people. However they should also be thought about competiton but not to the extent that they start taking stress about the failures.