The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

According to the author, we should instil a sense of cooperation rather than competition in young people to prepare them for leadership roles. Cooperation has always been an essential quality of a good leader therefore I agree with the author's claim.

One of the cardinal qualities of a leader is to sacrifice his or her ego and cooperate with others to reform their people's life. From childhood we are made to work on various group projects, sometimes we didn't like our group still we worked together to complete projects. Similarly, leaders will be faced with many such situations wherein they will need to cooperate with their rivals for the betterment of the organization. For instance, In India during the COVID pandemic, different ministers of different states worked together to eradicate covid from the country, if there were dissentation between the states then this would not have been possible.

Furthermore, cooperation teaches young people to make compromises for betterment while competition adds pressure on them to outperform their rivals. For instance, In India to get admission in IIT's students study rigorously for 2 years due to severe competition, the stress on students builds up soo much that few people end their life if they fail to get a good rank.

However, I concede that there should be some amount of competition often in order to bring the best from the leaders. Sometimes a sense of competition encourages people to perform better otherwise they would get complacent and wouldn't try hard to progress. For instance, Employees in the company try their best to get an employee of the month award. The award does create a sense of competition among employees which encourages them to perform their best.

In conclusion, Cooperation is one of the most skills of a good leader and should be instilled in young people. However, they should also be thought-about competition but not to the extent that they start taking stressed about the failures.