An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

According to author doctors should share their patients medical details to an ailing patient so that ailing patient may better determine whether doctor is competent to treat that medical condition. I disagree with the author's claim for following 2 reasons.

Firstly, Not all patient are comfortable with sharing their medical history. Medical documents are very sensitive and advised to be kept personal. Since a medical document may contain many personal things patient might not want to share it. For instance, I patient who has OCD for cleaniness would'nt want others to know about it or A student diagnosed with aldy (learning disability) might feel embarassed if other people knows about it. Few people are very sentive when it comes to medical condition and we should respect that. The sharing should be done only after patients permission.

Before sharing we have to also check the integrity of the ailing patient. There is high risk that the patient might use those confidential health records for wrong purpose in the future. For instance, If a relative of mine found my health records he might share it with all my relatives which I would'nt be comfortable with. Also It would'nt be of much help for the patient to examine the competent of the doctor because in todays world its not a rocket science to create a false document. A doctor might create multiple false document of similiar medical condition to prove his competent.

Some may argue that this is best means through which we can examine competent of the doctor. Well there are other methods too which can be used. A doctor with years of experience in treating the medical condition would mostly be good at it. We can also ask for the contact details of previously treated person for their inputs rather than asking for whole medical record.

In conclusion, sharing a medical records of patient is an imprudent and unethical step. Even if doctors want to share the medical records for some reason it should be with the patient consent or doctor should encourage the ailing patient to contact previous patient directly.