Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Author asserts that the government officials should make decisions based on their own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve. I strongly disagree with this assertion. In my opinion, this would give government officials the liberty to take decisions which will be primarily in their own favour and not to the people they serve.

Basic principle of democracy is “It is for the people, to the people, by the people” this fundamental principle clearly states that it’s the people who should be considered while making judgements. Once government starts making judgement based on their own, primary purpose of democracy would be destroyed. It has been learned from our history that power given to particular group or person leads to an immense suffering of the people. For Instance, North Korea today is fighting with severe inflation while their officials our busy bolstering their defence sector. Officials frivolous attitude towards people needs has resulted in starvation of millions of people. Most decisions of officials are inclined towards their betterment leaving people in an abysmal condition.

In addition, when decisions are solely based on government judgement it can give rise to policies that will ensure the current government remains in power indefinitely. Oppositions would be immured in prison and their freedom of speech would be snatched away. Government is most likely to take the control of media so they can maintain a good image among the public. For example, Communists party of China controls everything in China from Media to their Banking norms and no one dares to go against them. JackMa a renowned businessmen in China recently commented on their flawed banking policies and in next few months Jack Ma’s assets were stripped off.

However, I concede that some judgements should be handed over to government especially those that requires domain expertise because people interference would just impede the decision making process. There should exist a balance between the viewpoint of government officials and people its serves to make the country a better place to live in.