Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Athletics is as important as arts are for any given country. If I had to agree or disagree with the statement, I would disagree with the statement. I feel this way for 2 reasons, which I will illustrate in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, a variety of people live in a particular country with different interests, some people have an interest in sports while some people have an interest in arts. If we spend more money on arts then we are doing injustice to the athletes of our nation and those who aspire to be athletes. This will discourage aspiring athletes. For example, my 10-year-old nephew, who wants to become a swimmer and win an Olympic gold medal for India will be heartbroken when he sees that the government is valuing arts more than sports.

Secondly, when an athlete or a national team wins a medal at an international sporting event, it brings a lot of honour to the country and encourages the youth of the country. Apart from economic development, we are also judged on how well we perform in sports since events like the Olympics and Commonwealth are organized to uplift the sports culture of a country. For example, when Neeraj Chopra won a gold medal in shooting for India at the Olympics, which was the first gold medal in track and field for India for a very long time, hence this achievement was recognized by the whole world.

Lastly, if the government decides to spend more money on arts than on sports, it will set a bad image for the youth of the country. They will think that pursuing sports is not important and would focus on other areas of studies. For instance, in India, subjects like Science and Mathematics are given much more importance than compared to sports or other extra-curricular activities, as a result, most people in India end up pursuing engineering and other STEM fields. This is why even after being a country of 1.2 billion people, India has poor records in the sporting events such as the Olympics and FIFA.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the amount allocated for the support of athletics should not be reduced. This is because it will demotivate our current and aspiring athletes and set a wrong perspective of sports for the youth.