Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

According to the author critical judgment for any work should come from someone who is expert in that particuler field. Since, before judging any work a strong understanding of that particuler field is required I partly agree with the author’s claim.

Any work no matter how good it is will always receive criticism from few people which might not be valuable. Few people might be criticising the work for personal reasons. For instance, A scientist must have done good job in studying a particuler phenomenon but still few reserchers will try to criticize the work. Their criticism will be based on the jealousy they have. There will always be few people who would hate us and will to try to find faults in our work. If we give importance to these feedbacks we will be wasting our valuable time.

Furthermore, To judge a particuler work its imperative that they have a good knowledge of that field. Experts in that field will give most valuable feedback since they have a strong understanding of the field. For Instance, Sachin Tendulkar a renowned cricketer, can easily identify the mistakes a young cricketer might be dong and can easily help him overcome those mistakes. Similarly, any work contains lot of things that can only be understood by the experts of that field.

However, I concede that sometimes critical judgment from non expert might also be helpful. They might lack the understanding of the field but sometimes their naive view towards the work may help us find the fault. For instance, Many times experienced film directors produces bad films, its through public reactions and their feedbaks they get to know were did they went wrong. Public might not be an expert in film directing but still they are able to find faults which the directors missed.

In conclusion, I agree with author that one should consider judgment that comes from an expert in that field espicially if its field of science or maths since they require great understanding of the field. However, in other areas feedback from non expert might also be helpful.