Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director decided to allocate a greater share of its budget for advertising in the hope that more people will attend Super screen produced movies. The conclusion was supported by evidence that there is greater percentage of positive reviews. The arguement is flawed in many aspects.

Firstly, What was total number of people who gave reviews? The author prematurely assumes that since there was a greater percentage of positive review the movie might be good but talks little about total numer of people who reviewed it. For instance, It might be possible that the movie was reviewed by only 100 people out of which most of them gave good reviews. Since the number of people reviewed is less it cannot be a good indicator for the quality of the movie. The author needs to find out how many people reviewed the movie and if it is low then company should try to collect more reviews.

Secondly, Are there other factors that affect the number of people attending the movie? The Author assumes that the number of people attending the movie is only based on the reach of positive reviews but fail to provide any evidence that would bolster the assumption. It might be possible that there are other factors affecting. For instance, During last year due to ongoing pandemic many people restrained themselves from going out which might have led to less number of people attending the movie. Also it might be possible that the people have access to pirated copies of these movies. The director need to do proper research in order to identify the exact factors that is causing low people to attend the movie.

Thirdly, Is current advertising method efficient? The author talks little about the current advertisement. It might be possible that the current advertisement method is not efficent enough to reach the public if thats the case its advisable to adopt a new advertisement method rather than increasing the budget.

In conclusion, The arguement is based on several unwarranted assumptions and can be better evaluated once the director answers above mention questions through proper research and survey.