Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The Author feels that the development of the road should be prohibited in order preserve tufted groundhog population. The evidence presented to support the claim is that there was decline in sea otter population when sanctuary status was repeal in Eastern Carpenteria and therefore the development of road will cause tufted groundhog population to decline. The assumption is flawed in many aspects and be can evaluated properly once the following questions are answered.

Firstly, Does sea otter and tufted groundhog prefer similiar environmental condition? The author prematurely assumes that since sea otter population declined tufted groundhog population will also decline without providing evidence to bolster the assumption. It might be possible that sea otter prefer differ climatic condition. For instance, sea otter might prefer cold weather but in Eastern Carpenteria temperature might be gradually rising or there might be rise in the population of predators of sea otter. Decline in population of sea otter might be based on several other factors and proper research is needed to find what exactly cost the decline.

Secondly, Factors that might affect tufted groundhog population? The author talks very little about how the development of road would link to the decline in the population. The author just assumes that the development will result in declining the population. For instance, If the goverment plans to deposit waste in coastland while developing the road then they could ask goverment to deposit waste somewhere else. A proper communication has to be established in order to find out how exactly how would the development of the road harm the tufted groundhog.

Thirdly, Did any construction take place in neighboring eastern carpenteria after repeal of sanctuary status? The author only mentions that the sanctuary status was repeal but does not indiacate on the kind of development that took place in in Eastern Carpenteria. For instance, In Eastern Carpenteria lots of factory might have been build after 1978 which might have lead to decrease in sea utter population but building just a single road might be innocous to tufted groundhog.

In conclusion, the arguement is based on several unwarranted assumptions and can the properly assessed once the above mention questions are answered properly