The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president of Groove College decided to preserve its old-tradition of all female education. The decision was based on the evidence that in a survey 80% student preferred all female education and over half of the alumnae prefered the same. However the arguement is flawed in many respects and can be better evaluated if following questions are answered.

Firstly, Total number of students responded to the survey? The author prematurely assumes that since 80% of the students who surveyed were in favour of all female education majority of students supported this idea however number of students who surveyed could be less. For instance, It might be the case that out of 1000 students only 100 people responded to the survey form out of which 80 students were in support. From above example we can imply that its not neccessary that majority of the students were in favour. A proper research is needed to find out the number of people who responded the survey form.

Secondly, Is surveying students right method? The Author assumes that the students might be neutral while responding to the survey which might not be the case. Since the college consist of all female students all students who responded to survey will also be females. It is most likely that female will prefer all female educator college as that would benefit them. The principle needs to take input from multiple groups of people including some female, some male students in the city, parents and so on to get a better overview.

Thirdly, No of alumnae who answered the form? The author again talks little about the number of alumnae who answered the survey form. It might be the case that the total number of alumnae answered the form is less. Also the principle assumes that alumnae might stop funding the college if its not all female college. However this might not be the case, alumnae might still keep supporting college irrespective of the decision. College can also get funding from other sources.

In conclusion, the arguement is based on several unwarranted assumption and can be better evaluated if the above mention question is answered. If principle provide details such as Number of students and alumnae who answered the survey form and take inputs from multiple group of people it would help to better assess the arguement.