A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What curriculum the nation should follow is not a trival topic. The Author asserts that A nation should require all of its students to study same national curriculum until they enter college. I partly disagree with the claim for following reasons.

I concede that following a same curriculam across the nation provides students with similiar foundation. This helps them when they select colleges outside of their states. They would not require to enroll in another couses to satisfy the requirements of outside state colleges also the peers they meet in the college would be on same level as them.

Although, Same national curriculum provide students with same foundation there are more disadvantages compared to advantages. Firstly, On what basis will the national curriculum be designed. Different states has different histories and traditions and their eduction is designed in such a way to instill those values in students, but its almost impossible to include all historical significant events in a single curriculem. For instance, Students in Maharastra are taught about Emperor Shivaji Maharaja while in Rajasthan Students are taught about Rajput Empire. They both hold significant values to states they ruled but adding both to the curriculam will just increase the burden on students.

Futhermore, different states follow different language and they prefer curriculum in their regional language. For instance, In Mumbai Marathi is taught. to students till 10th grade while in Ahmedabad its gujrathi thats prefered more. Linguistic and Cultural differences are going to impede the developement of such a curriculam.

Also the the person or comiteee appointed to design such a course will be more biased towards their language and historical events undermining other regional subjects this will further create problems between states.

In conclusion, Few subjects such as Science and Maths can have standard curriculam across the nation since they are based on similiar foundations, but specific states should be allowed to decide their subjects.