“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The petition sent by environmental protection group states the The Smith cooperation should not be permitted to develope the land as the sanctuary is essential for the 300 bird species living there. The evidence on which the claim is based on is that the assumption that their hotel plan will do nothing but harm the sanctuary. The claim is flawed in many aspects for following reasons.

Firstly How is small percentage of land going to impact the sanctuary? The author prematurely assumes that even alloting small percentage of land to hotel would have disastrous consequences but fails to provide relevant evidence regarding it. If the developemnt of the project is done in the middle of sanctuary where majority of bird species habitat exist then it would be problem for sanctuary but it may be possible that the development will be done at a corner of the sanctuary and a local guide would take them to the sanctuary resulting in minimum interference in the birds habitat.

Secondly, Has the environmental protection group viewed the hotel plan? Just assuming that the hotel plan will harm the bird species is not advisable. There are many hotels that are build in the wildlife sanctuary and still maintain to preserve the wildlifes. Environmental protection group should discuss with Smith cooperation and point out the factors that might affect the birds life like late night noises or dumping wastes in the sanctuary and so on.

Thirdly, Has there been any previous development in the sanctuary? The Author provides no information regarding the previous developments projects in the santuary. If already hotels exist there then its not advisable to build more but is its first one then proper discussion can be done so that both the party's are come to an agreement. Experience of previous development projects would also help us to make changes according in these project.

In conclusion, the claim is based on several unwarranted assumptions. Proper evaluation of the claim can be done once the author answers the above mention questions through proper research.