The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

According to the author the real talent of musician should be assessed after the death of musician so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment. I strongly disagree with the claim for following reasons.

It makes no sense in assessing the the real talent of musician after they are dead. One of the primary reasons we assess those talents is that we can acclode them if they really stand out from their competitors, this encourages them to create more musics. For instance, Lata Mangeskar a renouned musician in India was presented with several awards during her career. Her musics were carefully scrutinized by the reviewers before giving her the award. Not only this encouraged her but also influenced many young female musician to keep pursuing their interest. If we would have waited until her death she would have never realised how good she was.

Furthermore, Public interest is quite capricious it keeps changing with time and therefore it is imperative that the talent of musician is assessed before their death. For instance, In early 2000s many people in India prefered classical and slow music which gave birth to musician like Arjit Singh. However, now people interest has shifted toward rap songs. So assessing musician of early 2000s now will not yield an accurate result. Also change in trent does not imply the musician has poor talent.

However, Some may argue that artist with great fame may use their power to interfer with honest assessment. Well is'nt the fame itself a great indiactor of the artist talent? Musician work hard all their life so that they can produce music that is liked by the people and thats how they gain their fame. An artist with poor talent will not be able to produce music that would impress people and threfore will not gain fame.

In conclusion, It does not make sense in assessing the real talent of musician after they are dead as they would not be there to witness the legacy they have left behind.