The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Owner of Movies Galore stated that because of the declining profit their movie-rental stores will operate till 6.00p.m rather than 9.00pm in hope of improving profits. The owner has come to this conclusion based on number of complaints they received regarding new policies they implemented in one of their store. This argument is flawed in several critical respects.

Firstly, Does fewer complaints imply better policy? Fewer complaints does not necessarily make the policies better for two reasons. First, Overall people visiting the store might be declining hence less people are aware about the new policies. Owner has failed to provide evidence regarding no of customers the store has witnessed after the implementation of new policies. Secondly, Not all people might take time out to complaint about new policies. Few people might check the store and if they didn’t find what they were looking for they might just buy it from another store. If the owner provides feedback of all their preexisting customers regarding the new policies it would help evaluate the policy better.

Secondly, Is the situation similar for other movie rental stores? Author has failed to examine the market perspective regarding renting movies from stores. It might be possible that nowadays people prefer watching movies from online platforms rather than renting it from stores. For instance, due to ongoing pandemic people are reluctant to go outside their house due to which trend for online platforms has culminated. If there is a shift in market perspective then the owner has to adopt a new strategy in order to increase sales.

Thirdly, Has people stopped watching old DVD’s? Author prematurely assume that people would prefer new latest DVD’s over old DVD’s but failed to provide any evidence that would bolster the assumption.

Younger generation might prefer new DVD’s to keep up with the trend but elderly people might still opt for older DVD’s as that would remind them of their old days. A proper analysis regarding the number of DVD’s stores has sold that were released more than five years ago in past few months would help evaluate the trend better.

In conclusion, the argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions. If owner is able to answer the above mentioned questions through proper research and surveys it would help evaluate the new policies better.